We are the culprits

I am attending my 5 yo annual concert. cute little kids March out and dance and sing to different themes.

A particular one speaks out to me. 

Why are the boys in pilot costumes and the girls in the stewardess costumes? Yes, girls look cute in these stewardess costumes but I think they would look cool too in a pilot costumes. I have seen many real life stewards yet we the supposed educated adults still have such deep rooted set gender roles in our minds where only boys can be pilots and girls the stewardess.

My daughter already tell me she prefers certain roles as it is deemed girl appropriate. While I try to tell her that she may be wrong but I do not think what I say or share may be enough to help break that stereotype that easily.

While I am not saying I will not stop sharing with her that one should not be constrain by stereotypes, I would have like it if at least the official educators will also champion the same cause and sensitive enough that even a costume or role playing does influence thr young minds.

I must say I am dissapointed. Disappointed that we adults let this happen.