Top skills of 2025

The latest top skills most company looked for as published by World Economic Forum (see below picture)

I agree totally because even if I am looking for a candidate : this is what I would look for. As for people looking for a job – how do we even ‘showcase’ these abilities in a ‘not more than 2 page’ resume that’s being scanned through by the ATS (Application Tracking System)? Of course, we just need to put in these ‘keywords’ in the resume so ATS will select your resume & you then get tested on either in logical /programming/math tests or characteristics test. More often than not (at least what I have went through in my lifetime) ; aptitude tests are done first vs character. And it is precisely that 7 skills out of the 10 skills just slipped through these ‘tests’.

I remember I didn’t do well in one of my 1st job of an MNC (I probably just borderline passed) and I was granted an interview followed by another 2 interviews conducted by real humans & leaders. Yes I am not the ‘top’ in the aptitude test on 50 questions on math / algebra / english tests ; but I sure did performed by role well enough to get increment every 10 months & remained the top candidate (top band) among my peers. I am guessing I have displayed at least 5 of these top skills. {note: this is 20 odd years ago where ATS & smart phones have not existed}

Perhaps the companies that harps on these top skills need to relook at their hiring strategy. While I understand the world is so much more complex (because we made it so!) Verses we send the amount of ‘resumes’ with the keywords; how about just send the link for the skills tests for those top skills, streamline the ones that ‘fit’ the ideal profile THEN ask chosen applicant/s to send in their resume (base on HOW they would love to showcase their past achievements and what they contribute) before one does a final human interview?

Why I say this is better?

1) You streamline exactly to what you want first not just applicants putting in the ‘keywords’ in the resume to get the ‘hits’ with the ATS

2) Hirer save time from scanning through the “ATS” sorted resumes

3) The resume would probably be more genuine

4) The applicant can show the real words they can describe their work or themselves vs the ‘keywords’ needed for ATS!

How’s that as my “creativity, originality, critical thinking” skill ? 😀

Leave a comment