So many firsts at 45

I recall when I was 16, we were ask to think where do you think what we want our future self to be in 2020.  To be honest – I don’t remember, I could only think – ‘Wow, I will be so old!”

But here I am – year 2020. The year to be known as the Covid-19 world wide pandemic. Global economy recession. Huge lay offs. Lock down / stay at home by decree. Ridiculous leaders. Dirty politics.

So much negativity. I was getting worried of what the future world is going to be like for my 9 y/o. I would never have dream this is what the year 2020 would be.

I don’t think I will ever forget my 45 year old self if I get to live till 2050. I moved the family to a new country without the extended family, without a job in place & without family ‘approval’ or support. I experience what person with no background/history at 45 in a new country is like – it was not so ‘easy’ to get even a simple trust from a owner to rent a house to you. I experience support from local friends I know from long ago which I am truly grateful for. I experience getting my first job in 4 weeks of active job seeking. I experience getting a local Australian General Manager that is open, honest & contrary to what many people assumed from where I come from ie – not racist.  I experience the culture of people that expects people to accept their opinion and their rights but cannot accept objective criticisms on their work openly. I experience working with transgender and highly sensitive young people. I experience getting laid off due to the Covid19 which brought down the company to its knees.

Yes so many firsts at 45 !

Let’s not forget how I experience being comforted by my sisters support through a simple video call of just “come back, we are here’. I experience making dishes that I wouldn’t do because of the many inspirations from FB friends. I experience making video for product selling. I experience being at home for 4 weeks with just the husband and kid (it wasn’t so bad). I experience taking 1 hour bicycle ride with all 3 of us!

Let’s not forget that through this period – I have started a web/application project with a friend in Copenhagen. I will be attending a webinar course. I am also going to embark on testing what’s data analyst course would be like.

So many firsts at 45! A good mix of good, bad & definitely a lot of steps going forward to 2050!

 

 

Leave a comment