“budding” wannabe entrepreneurs cum professionals

After years of running a small business & having met countless customers, suppliers & professionals, I can’t help but be more annoyed with the professionals. To be fair, these professionals are great at their work, one can learn a lot from them, but when they thought I am their BFF (on their end) , they start to give me ideas on doing business. And most of the time, they seem to be wanting the ‘business’ owners to come up with money, time & work, while they – being the ‘professional’ just gives the idea (aka all talk).

The fact of the matter is, entrepreneurs are not just people who generate idea. They are successful because they execute them. They invest 150% of their time in their idea. I am not an entrepreneur precisely because I don’t invest 150% of my time, I only invest 50%. But that doesn’t mean that I am stupid ok?

I don’t get why a professional will think ‘introducing’ people to work for us will therefore be ‘super’ beneficial to expansion of our business. The nitty gritty of any business is not just about people, its also about processes, controls, budgets & sales. If there’s anything I learned from my 8 years, it will be – its all about SALES, SALES, SALES. Get the SALES (& payment!) before one should even bother with any capital investment.

So see – those successful entrepreneurs, they know its all about sales & also all about capital  – what they do is giving their all to their idea & execution. I have met many small scale entrepreneurs & they work at least 12 hours a day & give their all to their business.

Yes – that’s what sets professionals & entrepreneurs apart.

Unless the professional can get out of their ‘comfort’ zone of that monthly ‘clock-work’ salary,please – don’t go around ‘sharing’ your ideas & telling other ‘small’ business owners to try to sell your ‘product or services’. It really is very degrading to your profession.

I am not an entrepreneur or a professional. But I am very ‘lucky’ to have met both types. I guess it is because we are small businesses & professionals seems to think they know better because they are experts in their field. I have never met any entrepreneur who gives ideas for other small business owner because they know that running one is nothing compared to the amount of energy & time needed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

