Amelia Earhart

I have decided to feature 1 inspiring woman each month so that Relm can see the many possibilities that a woman can do (since I am pretty ‘affected’ by her Montessori’s concert depiction of ‘flying’ theme where only boys were pilots & girls as stewardess) when she finally can read lots on her own & even write her own blog.

So obviously, I will start with the first woman aviator to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean – Amelia Earhart. Flying solo is not her only accomplishment of course – her achievements can be found in wikipedia of course!

amelia_earhart_circa_1928
pic from wikipedia

“Please know that I am aware of the hazards. I want to do it because I want to do it. Women must try to do things as men have tried. When they fail, their failure must be a challenge to others.” – Amelia Earhart (1897-1937)

I am not advocating all women to be a pilot, but I will like young girls & ladies not to limit themselves to stereotype gender roles. What men do, women can too & what women do, men can too!

 

Leave a comment